Apparent Problems

I’m getting a load of reports that audio isn’t playing. After looking into the issue, it appears that there is something broken with NPR’s service. I’ve notified them, and hope to see it corrected soon.

It also appears that NPR changed the format of some of their responses to the queries that my app sends it. Their responses aren’t being parse properly, and therefore, the “All Programs” listing has stopped working. I’ve updated my code, along with a couple of other bug fixes. I’ll be submitting an update soon.

(About 10 minutes later…) 

Now NPR is returning nothing for a query for the All Programs listing…

(http://api.npr.org/list?id=3004)

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<list id="3004" typeid="3004">
  <title>All Programs</title>
</list>

I think I’ll just go to bed instead.

(and about a day later…)

They have All Programs fixed up, but still we’re missing a lot of audio. It sounds like they’ve changed their licensing/rights on some items. I’ll be following up on the details of this.

3 Responses to “Apparent Problems”


  1. 1 Daniel February 2, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    Hey,

    Great program! I’m listening to all things considered right now in Carbondale IL! Keep it up and thank you for your work!

  2. 2 Carlos Pedraza February 3, 2009 at 6:21 am

    The iPhone app has completely failed. I press the Listen button and nothing happens.

  3. 3 flubacher February 3, 2009 at 6:55 am

    Carlos,

    Yes, as I described in this post, NPR has removed a large amount of the audio content that used to be available to the application. I’m trying to work with them to return it to the state we all are looking for.


Leave a Reply

