Now Available

NPR Mobile has recently been approved for sale in the App Store. I recently performed a search for the keyword “NPR” which didn’t reveal anything. Maybe they update tags daily. We’ll see.

So, the application was accepted for sale in the store just in time for me to finish my next set of major improvements. Tonight, I submitted version 1.2 for review, which adds station finder and podcast capabilities.

This version constitutes all major features that I envisioned in NPR Mobile. There’s not much left for me to do but fix any bugs that pop up, and move on to my next application.

5 Responses to “Now Available”


  1. 1 Yokhannan December 22, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    Dude, thanks!!

    I’ve been wanting to listen to NPR without going through all the freaking trouble of setting up a podcast subscription inside iTunes, then have to do all the transferring/sync’ing!!

    Not to mention that iTunes does not have things like “morning edition”… but you got it!!

    Only things I can think of that might improve this awesome app:

    (a) make the “listen/read” button a little more pretty 😀

    (b) zebra colorize the listing pages… rather then having them all white.

    (c) I didn’t see the “hourly news reports”…. are they possible to grab and index?

    Anyway, thanks for pushing this out mate!

  2. 2 NPRfreak December 22, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Finally! Thanks for the chance to easily browse–and play–NPR content. One suggestion, though (maybe for v.1.3??): is there any way to automatically queue up and play all the segments of a news show like Morning Edition or All Things Considered in broadcast sequence like you can do from their full web page?

  3. 4 Randy Murray December 22, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Nice job – a helpful little app.

    Thanks!

  4. 5 flubacher December 26, 2008 at 10:36 am

    Thanks for the helpful suggestions. I’ve taken care of the zebra colors in the listings.. It does look much nicer. I’ll be looking into making the listen/read buttons a little more attractive. A co-worker of mine said the same thing when he saw the app before I released it.

    As for the hourly news reports, they’re available via the Podcast Directory -> News list of podcasts. This will appear for you next time you update. I’m waiting on Apple to approve the update- should be there Sunday I’m guessing.


Leave a Reply

